Bishop Wood Logo

Bishop Wood C of E Junior School

At Bishop Wood we grow and learn together, embracing challenge and celebrating success in all that we do.

The Tree

Outstanding Anglican School   Contact Us
     
About Our School Button
Curriculum Button
News & Letters Button
Parent Pages
Term Dates Button
Pupil Pages
Gallery Button
 
Healthy Schools Logo
 
IQM Mark 15
 
Primary Science Quality Mark
 
 

Home Page

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

Headlines this week

Updated: 17 December, 2017
  Autumn 2 - Week 8 (w/b 18th December)
  Mon 18 Dec Christmas Carol Concert at St Peter & St Paul's Church - 7pm - Festive refreshments available from 6.20pm - Letter
  Wed 20 Dec Christmas Golden Time - Letter
  Thu 21 Dec END OF TERM
Church Service
- 12.30pm - All welcome - Letter
School closes at 1.30pm
       
  Tring Community Events:
       
 

 

  Please contact admin@bishopwood.herts.sch.uk if you spot any errors on this website. Your feedback is always appreciated. Many thanks, Sally Spriggs
 

 

   
   
 

School Roll of Honour

  Most Fridays class teachers nominate one or more of their students to receive a Roll of Honour award from the Headteacher. For details of the awards please visit Roll of Honour Page.
   
     
     
     
     
     
 

100% Attendance Awards

  Click on the Attendance Page button for guidelines about attendance and how it effects learning.
 

 

   
     
     
     
     
 

School Diary

Updated: 17 December, 2017
  Autumn 1 - Week 1 (w/b 4th September)
  Mon 4 Sept Back to school  
  Autumn 1 - Week 2 (w/b 11th September)
  Wed 13 Sept Years 5 & 6 - Welcome Evening - Yr 5 at 6.30pm, Yr 6 at 7.15pm - Letter
  Fri 15 Sept 3B - Cake Sale - Letter
  Autumn 1 - Week 3 (w/b 18th September)
  Tue 19 Sept 2nd Hand Uniform Sale - 3.30pm in the Library - (please enter via main reception)
  Thu 21 Sept Year 3 - Visit Tring Natural History Museum - Letter
  Fri 22 Sept Cake Sale for World Challenge - 30.30pm
  Autumn 1 - Week 4 (w/b 25th September)
  Fri 29 Sept Years 3 & 4 House Games
  Fri 29 Sept Macmillan Coffee Morning - from 8.30am at Jack & Alice in Tring - Flyer
  Fri 29 Sept 3I - Cake Sale - Letter
  Sat 30 Sept Quiz Night for World Challenge
  Autumn 1 - Week 5 (w/b 2nd October)
  Wed 4 Oct Year 3 - Chiltern Open Air Museum - Letter
  Thu 5 Oct Themed Lunch - Street Food
  Fri 6 Oct Years 5 & 6 House Games
  Fri 6 Oct 4DR - Cake Sale - Letter
  Fri 6 Oct Buddies Disco for children - 7-8.30pm - Letter
  Sun 8 Oct Worship for All - St Peter & St Paul's Church - Bishop Wood children leading the service
  Autumn 1 - Week 6 (w/b 9th October)
  Fri 13 Oct Harvest Festival at St Peter & St Paul's Church - 9.15 to 10.15am - Letter, List
  Fri 13 Oct 4H - Cake Sale - Letter
  Sat 14 Oct Tring Apple Fayre Parade - 10.15am at school field - Christchurch Road - Letter
  Sun 15 Oct Arts & Craft Experience - 11am-4pm - Wilstone Village Hall
  Autumn 1 - Week 7 (w/b 16th October)
  All week Fun Fit & Fruity Week! - Information Letter
  All week Walk to School Week!
  Mon 16 Oct Year 3 - Cookery Competition - Muffins
  Mon 16 Oct 3I - Trip to Tesco in Tring - 15 children - Letter
  Mon 16 Oct Year 5 - Church Visit
  Mon 16 Oct Year 6 - Cycling on the field
  Mon 16 Oct Buddies AGM - 8.15-9.30pm - Letter
  Tue 17 Oct Wear Bright Clothes - £1
  Tue 17 Oct Fun Run - 7.40am at Tring Park
  Tue 17 Oct 3B - Trip to Tesco in Tring - 15 children - Letter
  Tue 17 Oct Year 3 - Scooters needed
  Wed 18 Oct Year 3 - Cycling on the field
  Wed 18 Oct Year 4 - Cookery Competition - Fruit Salad/Kebabs
  Wed 18 Oct Year 6 - Pizza Making
  Thu 19 Oct 3I - Trip to Tesco in Tring - 16 children - Letter
  Thu 19 Oct 3B - Trip to Tesco in Tring - 15 children - Letter
  Thu 19 Oct Year 4 - Cycling on the field
  Thu 19 Oct Year 4 - Road Safety Training - Letter
  Thu 19 Oct Year 5 - Cookery Competition - Bread based snacks
  Thu 19 Oct Cross Country Festival at Tring School
  Fri 20 Oct Healthy Tuck Shop - please bring 20p to £1
  Fri 20 Oct Year 5 - Cycling on the field
  Fri 20 Oct Year 6 - Cookery Competition - Savoury Salads
  Fri 20 Oct FOTCH Barn Dance
  Half term holiday
Monday 23rd to Friday 27th October 2017
  Holiday Clubs & Activities in and around Tring:
  Frogmore Paper Mill - Halloween Fun - flyer
  Premier Sports - Holiday Clubs
  Natural History Museum - October half term activities
   
  Autumn 2 - Week 1 (w/b 30th October)
  Mon 30 Oct Back to School
  Tue 31 Oct Year 6 - Closing date for secondary school applications - Secondary Transfer Letter - Moving on events 2018
  Tue 31 Oct Years 5 & 6 - Show Racism the Red Card - Letter
  Wed 1 Nov School Photos - Individual/Siblings
  Fri 3 Nov Themes Lunch - Bonfire Bash!
  Fri 3 Nov 5F - Cake Sale - Letter
  Autumn 2 - Week 2 (w/b 6th November)
  Wed 8 Nov Year 5 - Egyptian Day - Letter
  Fri 10 Nov Remembrance Service (for children at school) - 100th anniversary of the end of the Battle of Passchendaele
  Fri 10 Nov 5R - Cake Sale - Letter
  Autumn 2 - Week 3 (w/b 13th November)
  Tue 14 Nov Christmas Cards - design deadline - Christmas Card Letter
  Fri 17 Nov Children In Need - Non-Uniform Day - Bring £1 - Letter
  Fri 17 Nov Years 3 & 4 - House Games
  Fri 17 Nov 6C - Cake Sale - Letter
  Fri 17 Nov Buddies - Bug Race Night - 6.30pm - Booking Form
  Autumn 2 - Week 4 (w/b 20th November)
  Mon 20 Nov Year 6 - Workshadowing Afternoon - children at Tring School - Help needed letter
  Mon 20 Nov Parent Consultation Evening - Letter - Booking Form
  Tue 21 Nov Tring Park Science Show
  Tue 21 Nov Year 6 - Workshadow Presentation Evening - 7-9pm - Tring School for Year 6 and their parents and carers - Letter 16th Nov - Letter, Project Diary, Risk Assessment
  Wed 22 Nov Years 3 & 4 - Nasal Flu Vaccinations - Letter
  Wed 22 Nov Parent Consultation Evening - Letter - Booking Form
  Thur 23 Nov INSET DAY - School closed
  Fri 24 Nov Occasional Day - School closed
  Autumn 2 - Week 5 (w/b 27th November)
  Tue 28 Nov Christmas Cards - Deadline for ordering via https://www.apfsorders.co.uk - Letter
  Wed 29 Nov Years 5 & 6 - Swimming Festival - After school
  Fri 1 Dec Non-Uniform Day - Bring £1 or chocolates for the Christmas Fayre!
  Fri 1 Dec Music Celebration - 2pm - Music Celebration Letter
  Fri 1 Dec 6M - Cake Sale - Letter
  Sun 3 Dec Frogmore Mill (Apsley) Christmas Fair 2017
  Autumn 2 - Week 6 (w/b 4th December)
  Mon 4 Dec Year 3 to Goldfield to watch dress rehearsal of Nativity
  Mon 4 Dec Travelling Crib
  Mon 4 Dec Scholastic Book Fair - Half price books - Letter
  Tue 5 Dec Year 2 Parents visiting our school - 10.45am
  Tue 5 Dec Collective Worship - Drama Show by members of the Drama Club
  Tue 5 Dec Scholastic Book Fair - Half price books - Letter
  Wed 6 Dec Years 5 & 6 - Football Festival
  Wed 6 Dec Scholastic Book Fair - Half price books - Letter
  Wed 6 Dec Buddies - Wreath Making Evening - 8.15pm - Scout Hut, Longfield Rd - Wreath Making Evening Letter, Poster
  Thu 7 Dec Year 6 - SATS Information Evening- 7pm - SATs Letter
  Fri 8 Dec Buddies Christmas Market - 2pm - Email, Letter, Poster
  Autumn 2 - Week 7 (w/b 11th December)
  Wed 13 Dec Christmas Lunch - Letter
  Fri 15 Dec Christmas Jumper Day - Please bring £1 for Save the Children - Letter
  Fri 15 Dec Years 5 & 6 - House Games
  Autumn 2 - Week 8 (w/b 18th December)
  Mon 18 Dec Christmas Carol Concert at St Peter & St Paul's Church - 7pm - Festive refreshments available from 6.20pm - Letter
  Wed 20 Dec Christmas Golden Time - Letter
  Thu 21 Dec

END OF TERM
Church Service
- 12.30pm - All welcome - Letter
School closes at 1.30pm

 

Christmas Holidays
Friday 22nd December 2017 to Friday 5th January 2018

  Holiday Clubs & Activities in and around Tring:
   
   
  Mon 8 Jan Back to School
  Thu 11 Jan Pantomime Trip - Cinedrella
  Mon 15 Jan Under 11s 2018 - primary, junior and middle admissions: Statutory deadline for application. Parents should apply online at: www.hertfordshire.gov.uk/admissions
  Fri 19 Jan Buddies Disco for children
  Wed 24 Jan Years 5 & 6 - Netball festival at Tring School
  Wed 31 Jan Year 3 - Aylesbury Waterside Theatre to see George's Marvellous Medicine - Letter
  Fri 2 Feb Buddies Quiz Night for parents
  Fri 2 Mar Buddies Disco for children
  Half term holiday
Monday 12th to Friday 16th February 2018
  Holiday Clubs & Activities in and around Tring:
   
  Fri 27 Apr Buddies Disco for children
  Sat 12 May School Fair
  25 - 28 June Year 6 - Residential Trip to the Isle of Wight
     
     
     
       

 

 

 

 

 

 

 





























 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Breakfast & Supper Club
 
Year 3 Year 4
Year 5 Year 6
 
 
 
 

Buddies Button

Ofsted button
 
Statutory Documents
 
Governing Body
 
Governors Login
 
     
 

Bishop Wood C of E Junior School
Frogmore Street, Tring, Hertfordshire, HP23 5AU
Tel: 01442 822024 Fax: 01442 382950 Email: admin@bishopwood.herts.sch.uk
Acting Headteacher: Mr J P Hall