Bishop Wood Logo

Bishop Wood C of E Junior School

At Bishop Wood we grow and learn together, embracing challenge and celebrating success in all that we do.

The Tree

Outstanding Anglican School   Contact Us
     
About Our School Button
Curriculum Button
News & Letters Button
Parent Pages
Term Dates Button
Pupil Pages
Gallery Button
 
Healthy Schools Logo
 
IQM Mark 15
 
Primary Science Quality Mark
 
 

Home Page

   

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Headlines this week

Updated: 21 June, 2017
  Summer 2 - Week 3 (w/b 19th June)
  Mon 19 to Fri 23 June Year 5 - Level 2 Cycle Training - Letter
  Tue 20 June Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 21 June Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 21 June Year 6 - Tring School Transition - 9.20am to 2.35pm - Letter
  Wed 21 June Tring Midsummer Fun Run - Letter
  Thu 22 June International Refugee Day - Non-Uniform for People Not Borders charity - Letter 1, Letter 2
  Thu 22 June Years 5 & 6 - House Games
  Fri 23 June Year 3 - Class Collective Worship - 9.15am - parents and carers welcome - Letter
  Fri 23 June Music Celebration - 2pm - Letter
  Fri 23 June Buddies Ice Cream Sale - 3.30pm
  Sat 24 June Tring Carnival Parade - Wheels! - 10.45am - Letter
     

 

  Please contact admin@bishopwood.herts.sch.uk if you spot any errors on this website. Your feedback is always appreciated. Sally Spriggs
   
 

 

 
 
Letter and link to www.tesco.com/bagsofhelp
   

 

   
   
 

School Roll of Honour

  Most Fridays class teachers nominate one or more of their students to receive a Roll of Honour award from the Headteacher. For details of the awards please visit Roll of Honour Page.
   
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
 

100% Attendance Awards

  Click on the Attendance Page button for guidelines about attendance and how it effects learning.
    During the first half of the Summer term 142 students acheived 100% attendance. Well done to all of them:
 

 

   
     
     
     
     
 

School Diary

Updated: 21 June, 2017
  Summer 1 - Week 1 (w/b 17th April)
  Tue 18 April Back to school
  Wed 19 April Year 4 - Science Workshop - Letter
  Thu 20 April St George's Day Lunch - menu from Herts Catering (for all children who normally have school lunch on a Thursday)
  Fri 21 April Buddies Disco - 7-8.30pm - Letter
  Sat 22 April Gardening Squad - 10am - 2pm - Letter
  Summer 1 - Week 2 (w/b 24th April)
  Tue 25 April Swimming - 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Tue 25 April Buddies 2nd Hand uniform sale - 3.30pm in the dining room
  Wed 26 April Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Fri 28 April Year 5 Collective Worship - 9.15am - parents and carers welcome
  Summer 1 - Week 3 (w/b 1st May)
  Mon 1 May School Closed - Bank holiday
  Tue 2 May Swimming - 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 3 May Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Thu 4 May School Closed - Local Elections
  Fri 5 May Non-Uniform Day - Bring sweets for the tombola at the Buddies Summer Fayre - Letter
  Sat 6 May FOTCH Family Fun Day - St Peter & St Paul's Church - Bishop Wood Choir performing at 11.30am
  Summer 1 - Week 4 (w/b 8th May)
  Week of 8 May Year 6 SATs Week
  Tue 9 May Swimming - 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 10 May Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Thu 11 May Year 6 - Music taster sessions at Tring School - 3.30-5pm - Letter, flyer
  Sat 13 May Buddies Summer Fair 11am - 2pm - Latest letter and Stall Rota
    Information, Help on the Day form, Wristband Order Form
  Summer 1 - Week 5 (w/b 15th May)
  All Week Walk to School Week - Letter
  Mon 15 May Year 6 - Natural History Museum, Tring - Letter
  Tue 16 May Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Tue 16 May Year 6 - Legal Eagles - Magistrates visit
  Wed 17 May Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Thu 18 May Photographer - Class and team photos
  Thu 18 May Year 6 - Measuring Height & Weight
  Summer 1 - Week 6 (w/b 22nd May)
  Mon 22 May Year 6 - Natural History Museum, Tring - Letter
  Tue 23 May Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 24 May Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 24 May Years 5 & 6 - Rounders Festival (after school)
  Fri 26 May End of half term - School closes at 3.30pm
  Half term holiday
Monday 29th May to Friday 2nd June 2017
    Holiday Clubs & Activities: Premier Sports - Flyer
      Apex Dance and Performing Arts - Flyer
      Natural History Museum - Flyer
      Sportspace - Flyer
      Herts Music Service - Songwriting Workshops
      Dacorum - Fun Inflatables in the Park
   
  Summer 2 - Week 1 (w/b 5th June)
  Mon 5 June Back to School
  Tue 6 June Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 7 June Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Thu 8 June School Closed - General Election
  Sat 10 June A non-school local event that might be of interest: Bioblitz Event at NHM Tring - Flyer
  Summer 2 - Week 2 (w/b 12th June)
  Tue 13 June Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 14 June Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 14 June Year 5&6 - Girls Football Team - Away match v Thomas Coram
  Thu 15 June Clean Air Day - Wear Green to School - an initiative from Mrs Reeve and the Bishop Wood Junior Travel Ambassadors - Information & Parking Pledge, 'Don't Be A Road Monster' letter
  Thu 15 June 8am - Scooter Scramble & Breakfast - Information & Parking Pledge, 'Don't Be A Road Monster' letter
  Thu 15 June Years 3 & 4 - House Games
  Fri 16 June Year 3 - Class Collective Worship - 9.15am - parents and carers welcome - Letter
  Fri 16 June Buddies Ice Cream Sale - 3.30pm
  Summer 2 - Week 3 (w/b 19th June)
  Mon 19 to Fri 23 June Year 5 - Level 2 Cycle Training - Letter
  Tue 20 June Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 21 June Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 21 June Year 6 - Tring School Transition - 9.20am to 2.35pm - Letter
  Wed 21 June Tring Midsummer Fun Run - Letter
  Thu 22 June International Refugee Day - Non-Uniform for People Not Borders Refugee Day charity - Letter 1, Letter 2, Update Letter
  Thu 22 June Years 5 & 6 - House Games
  Fri 23 June Year 4 - Class Collective Worship - 9.15am - parents and carers welcome - Letter
  Fri 23 June Music Celebration - 2pm - Letter
  Fri 23 June Buddies Ice Cream Sale - 3.30pm
  Sat 24 June Tring Carnival Parade - Wheels! - 10.45am - Letter
  Summer 2 - Week 4 (w/b 26th June)
  Tue 27 June Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Tue 27 June Spelling Bee - pm - in school heats
  Tue 27 June Welcome Evening - 6.30pm for Year 4 parents & 7pm for new Year 3 parents
  Wed 28 June Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 28 June Thank You Assembly for Parent Helpers & Governors - 1.45 to 3pm
  Thu 29 June Year 4 - Viking Day - Year 4 - Viking Trip Letter
  Fri 30 June Years 5 & 6 - Cricket Tournament
  Fri 30 June Buddies Ice Cream Sale - 3.30pm
  Summer 2 - Week 5 (w/b 3rd July)
  Mon 3 July Summer Reading Challenge Assembly - delivered by Diane from Tring Library
  Mon 3 July Year 6 - Leavers Performance (dress rehearsal) - 1.50pm - Year 2 Goldfield children visiting
  Mon 3 July Buddies - Second Hand Uniform Sale - 3.30pm for Goldfield Parents
  Tue 4 July Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 5 to 7 July Year 4 - Cuffley Camp - Letter
  Wed 5 July Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am - Letter
  Wed 5 July Year 5 - Travel Ambassadors visit County Hall
  Wed 5 July Year 6 - Leavers Performance - 7pm
  Thu 6 July Year 5 - College Lake Trip - Letter
  Fri 7 July Buddies Ice Cream Sale - 3.30pm
  Summer 2 - Week 6 (w/b 10th July)
  Mon 10 July Year 3 - Visit Goldfield to watch Year 2 performance
  Mon 10 to 14 July Year 6 - Swanage - latest letter
  Tue 11 July Swimming - 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Tue 11 July Herts Catering - Wimbledon themed lunch
  Tue 11 July Year 3 - Visit Goldfield School
  Wed 12 July Swimming - 5F at 9am, 5DR at 9.30am, 4B at 10am, 4H at 10. 30am - Letter
  Wed 12 July Year 2 and staff here for activity morning with yr 3 - staying for lunch
  Fri 14 July Buddies Ice Cream Sale - 3.30pm
  Summer 2 - Week 7 (w/b 17th July)
  Mon 17 July Year 6 Transition - Tring School
  Tue 18 July Swimming - Yr 6 at 9am (Letter) and 9.30am, 3I at 10am, 3R at 10. 30am - Letter
  Tue 18 July Year 6 Transition - Tring School
  Tue 18 July Year 2 - Transition morning and staying for lunch
  Wed 19 July Sports Day - 9.30am
  Thu 20 July (Reserve Sports Day - 1.30pm)
  Thu 20 July Year 6 - Leavers Assembly - 11am
  Thu 20 July Year 6 - Party! - 7pm
  Fri 21 July

END OF TERM
Church Service
- 12.30pm - All welcome
School closes at 1.30pm

 

Summer Holidays
Monday 24th July to Monday 4th September 2017

  Holiday Clubs & Activities in Tring:
  Tring Tennis Club Summer Holidy Camps - Flyer
  Cookies Cookery Club - Flyer
   
   
     
     
       

 

 

 

 

 

 

 





























 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Admissions 2017-18
 
Year 3 Year 4
Year 5 Year 6
 
 
 
 

Buddies Button

Ofsted button
 
Statutory Documents
 
Governing Body
 
Governors Login
 
     
 

Bishop Wood C of E Junior School
Frogmore Street, Tring, Hertfordshire, HP23 5AU
Tel: 01442 822024 Fax: 01442 382950 Email: admin@bishopwood.herts.sch.uk
Headteacher: Mrs L Hardman